G is for the Great Views

Give me a view and I’m happy. I’m really lucky in that where we live on Dartmoor I only have to walk for 2 minutes and can sit on a stone with a view across North Devon towards Exmoor and beyond. But however beautiful our local views are I still hanker for thosethat I know so well in the Luberon

From Dartmoor across to Exmoor spring 2015

From Dartmoor across to Exmoor spring 2015

I find there’s something wonderful about just being able to sit and watch the world go by , watch the changing colours of the landscape and the shadows shift with the sun. I don’t need a book, I don’t necessarily need conversation, I certainly don’t want music pumping through headphones – I just want to be able to sit for a while and watch.

I’ve  mentioned before how much I love the Luberon as it’s probably the only place I feel I can truly escape and relax, where after a few days, I find I can just sit for ages, absorbed by the view that’s laid out before me.

View towards Bonnieux from Lacoste

View towards Bonnieux from Lacoste

The delight of the area are the hill-top villages that afford views in every direction and the quiet roads where you can easily pull to one side to spend time taking in the sight that is in front of you.

Lavender fields towards Sault

Lavender fields towards Sault

 Views are not just about what you can see, but what you can hear and smell too, I love the summer screaming of cicadas, but at the same time find the more autumnal sounds of distant farm machinery soothing.

Late september grapes in the vineyards near Cabrieres D'Avignon

Late september grapes in the vineyards near Cabrieres D’Avignon

From the villages below the Petit Luberon you get spectacular views across the valley floor towards the beautiful hill-top town of Gordes  with the bright streak of orange and red from the Ochre cliffs at Roussillon

The Ochres of roussillon

The Ochres of roussillon

….. and the dramatic grey scar of the cliff that sits above Lioux. Beyond this there is always the sight of Mont Ventoux, a giant whale of a mountain with its white top of bleached scree in the summer and snow in the winter.

View towards Mont Ventoux

View towards Mont Ventoux

From the other side of the valley the Petit Luberon’s green folds look even more pronounced as the shadows move along it and you strain to catch sight of the village of Oppede Le Vieux perched half-way up its face.

A glimpse of the view from Gordes

A glimpse of the view from Gordes

The whole area has a sense of space that is so often missing in other places. Every time you reach the top of a climb, whether onto the Luberon, the plateau or Mont Ventoux the world opens out before you.

Near Lacoste

Near Lacoste

I know it’s easy to feel you need to get somewhere, even on holiday, but in the Vaucluse I have learnt to forget the carefully made plans and to stop, relax , watch and be absorbed – it’s amazing how quickly a couple of hours (and more) pass……….

………………………………….. and to be honest everything else can wait.

Sunset on an evening walk above Lagnes

Sunset on an evening walk above Lagnes

Leave a Reply

